Building, Planning & Zoning

Responsibility for the oversight of this department is assigned to Gary E. Beck, Jr., Building Inspector. This office administers building regulations, as well as planning and zoning code, it develops and provides staff support for the Planning Board and Zoning Board of Appeals.

Department staff addresses Planning, Zoning Enforcement, Zoning Variances, Zoning issues, Ordinance Enforcement including Construction Codes, Property Maintenance Code and Special Use Permits.

The Building Department consists of Building Inspector Gary E. Beck, Jr. and Deputy inspectors who issue all building permits, performs construction inspection, issues Certificates of Occupancy when appropriate, and enforces the Building Code of New York State, and pertinent sections of the City of Poughkeepsie Code of Ordinances.

All electrical, plumbing, and heating work performed in the City of Poughkeepsie must be performed by licensed individuals or firms. This division regulates and issues the appropriate licenses for Electricians and Plumbers. A list of licensed providers is available on the Downloads page or by contacting the department at the main contact number.

Plumbing and Electrical Test

The Plumbing and Electrical test will be given 9:00am on November 23, 2013 at City Hall,  City of Poughkeepsie – 62 Civic Center Plaza – 3rd Floor

For additional information about plumbing tests, please visit: https://www.prometric.com/en-us/clients/construction/documents/C301237020071121.pdf

For additional information about electrical tests, please visit: https://www.prometric.com/en-us/clients/construction/documents/C201137020080812.pdf

For additional information about other construction trade tests, please visit: https://www.prometric.com/en-us/clients/construction/Pages/Construction-Trades-Licensing-Exams.aspx

Office Hours & Location

City Hall
62 Civic Center Plaza – 2nd Floor
8:30AM-4:30PM, Monday-Friday

Contact Information

Main Business Contact
Kathy Rodriguez
Municipal Secretary
(845) 451-4007
(845) 451-4006  FAX
krodriguez@cityofpoughkeepsie.com

Nancy Fedorchak
Administrative Assistant
(845) 451-4055
(845) 451-4006 FAX
nfedorchak@cityofpoughkeepsie.com

Gary E. Beck, Jr.
Building Inspector
(845) 451-4007
gbeck@cityofpoughkeepsie.com

Eric Philipp
Deputy Building Inspector
845-451-4005
ephilipp@cityofpoughkeepsie.com

Ed Peters
Deputy Building Inspector
845-451-4017
epeters@cityofpoughkeepsie.com

Don Cocker
Deputy Building Inspector
845-451-4011
dcocker@cityofpoughkeepsie.com

Judy Knauss
Deputy Zoning Administrator
845-451-4010
jknauss@cityofpoughkeepsie.com